Prix pour thèse de doctorat en études bouddhiques

La Fondation Khyentse annonce un prix de thèse récompensant un doctorat en études bouddhiques soutenu en 2018-2019 ou 2019-2020.

Ci-dessous l’annonce avec tous les détails :

The Khyentse Foundation Award for Outstanding PhD Dissertation in Buddhist Studies is given annually to the author of a doctoral dissertation in the field of Buddhist Studies, defended during the previous two academic years. The dissertation must be based on original research in the relevant primary language or languages, and it should significantly advance the understanding of the subject or Buddhist scriptures studied.

The award, which is granted in alternate years to Asian and European dissertations, consists of US$8,000 to enable the recipient to further his or her research. This year, submissions from Europe will be considered.

Accredited institutions across Europe, including the UK, that offer PhD programs in Buddhist Studies or religious studies, are invited to nominate one dissertation that was completed during the academic year 2018–19 or 2019–20. Only dissertations written in English, French or German will be accepted. The nomination period is from October 1 through December 31, 2020. The winning dissertation will be announced by June 30, 2021.

All nominations must be accompanied by four separate documents (in English other than specified):

  • A letter of recommendation by a member of the faculty and/or the chair of the department or institution
  • A summary of the dissertation (not more than 2 pages)
  • One representative chapter of the dissertation (can be in English, French or German)
  • Full contact information for the department and for the author of the dissertation

These documents should be submitted as email attachments to:

A four-person committee will select three dissertations to be read in their entirety by all committee members, who will select the winning dissertation.

Past winners of the award include Dr. Chao Tung-Ming of National Taiwan University (2014), Dr. Jens Wilhelm Borgland of University of Oslo and Dr. David Higgins of the University of Lausanne (2015), Mao Yufan of the Chinese University of Hong Kong (2016), Christopher V. Jones of St Peter’s College, Oxford University (2017), Wenli Fan of the Chinese University of Hong Kong (2018), and Cécile Ducher of the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes – PSL in France (2019). This year, Mingyuan Gao of the Buddha Dharma Center of Hong Kong and Su-an Lin of Chengchi University of Taiwan shared the award.

Contact the dissertation coordinator ( with inquiries. Source:

Partager ce contenu